PDA

View Full Version : Where did that ad come from??



cogs
14th February 2004, 10:34 PM
Just wondering..

I went to nissanexa.com then clicked on message board link.. the page loaded but it had a classmates.com banner at the top of the page?? I went back.. clicked on the link for the message boards again and this time it loaded normalyy (without the ad), it was actually on the webpage because it created a big black space between the start of the forums and the top of the page.. like it wasn't just a pop-up or anything like that.. whats the story? I'm wiggin out cause I'm not drunk or anything.. can anyone explain this? Please tell me we aint gettin shitty banner ads on this site!!

GPexa
15th February 2004, 09:42 PM
sounds like you've got some ad-ware of some sort that's installed itself on your PC... the only ads we serve here are the google ads on the front page, and in the guestbook...

Try using the program ad-aware, which will tell you what's up...

cogs
15th February 2004, 10:54 PM
Yeh i realised tonight it must've been adaware becuase the same thing happened when i was at carsales website.. I'll run ad-aware again now then. Thanx Warren.

GPexa
15th February 2004, 11:44 PM
no probs ;)

I realised i had some form of spyware too about a year ago when an ad popped up here... lol