REMOVE ADS
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Water/coolant leaking from bottom of engine??

Not so Newbie h29 is very helpful round here

Water/coolant leaking from bottom of engine??

Hi all.
    I have just bought a 1983 N12 EXA and trying to get it fixed for RWC.
    Rego expired 2 years ago. Strangely, it has only done 125,000 KMs...

There are a few problems that I can see, but I have no experience in fixing a car though.
    The engine starts and runs fine, except the leaks from muffler, the turbo (also?) and issues stated below.

1. When the engine is running, there's water coming out from the bottom of engine. It is not fuel or oil. Water from radiator?? Can't see where it is coming from.
    2. When I pour the coolant into the radiator, after abt 5 secs of pouring it comes out at the bottom of engine (on the driver side, can't find the source). No leaks at the radiator though.
    3. For the turbo, when it revs up to 3000rpm, turbo kicks in, i can hear the "whistle sound" of the turbo but the engine starts to "cough". Felt like going to stall.
    Is this because of the holes in the muffler? or problem with turbo?
    It runs fine below 3000rpm though.
    4. Also, the radiator fans are not working. And, the locking handle of sunroof is broken. Anywhere to find the parts?

Engine sounds good, clutch and gearbox works fine too.

can someone help me with these issues?

Thinking of sending it to the Mr Muffler. Bad idea?

Sorry about my poor english.

Thanks!

Guru Paul Smith has disabled reputation

Quote Originally Posted by h29 View Post
    1. When the engine is running, there's water coming out from the bottom of engine. It is not fuel or oil. Water from radiator?? Can't see where it is coming from.
    2. When I pour the coolant into the radiator, after abt 5 secs of pouring it comes out at the bottom of engine (on the driver side, can't find the source). No leaks at the radiator though.